## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNFY WATER DISTRICT HELD: April 2, 1975

### SPECIAL CALLED EMERGENCY MEETING

THE STATE OF TEXAS

#### FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

#### **COUNTY OF FRANKLIN**

ON THIS THE 2nd day of April 1975, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in special session at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas with the following present:

LANDON RAMSAY

K. P. LESTER

VICE PRESIDENT

VICE PRESIDENT

BILLY M. JORDAN

ENNIS D. CHRISTENBERRY

JEARL COOPER

DIRECTOR

DIRECTOR

and with the following absent:

Also present were: Horris Morris, Lake Superintendent; Woodrow Edwards Attorney; Shirley Lykins, Office Manager; and Jean Slaughter, Secretary.

NONE.

The President of the Board called the Meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the Meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this Meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Ann. Civ. Statutes, Article 6252-17.

MOTION was made by ENNIS CHRISTENBERRY, and duly SECONDED by K. P. LESTER, to have an article published in a local newspaper describing the functions of the Water District. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all present voted "AYE." NONE voted "NO."

MOTION was made by BILLY JORDAN, and duly SECONDED by K. P. LESTER, to approve and make payment of the bills and any salaries, withholding and social security taxes which might come due before the next Board Meeting. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation had thereon, all present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

The bills are as follows:

147.73

		Volume 7 Page 28	
2463 Melvin M. Munn - Salary		127.54	ļ
2464 W. L. Gibson & Sons - 1st Progress Paymen	t, Overlook		
Park Boat Ramp	,	3,960.	00
2465 0. R. Zachary - Election Judge		25.00	
2466 Jean Hope - Election Clerk		20.00	
2467 Ruth DeShazo - Election Clerk		20.00	
2468 Sarah Reagan - Election Clerk		20.00	
2469 Ivey Smith - Election Clerk		20.00	
2470 Void			
2471 Pauline Hicks - Election Clerk		20.00	
2472 Sue Raley - Election Clerk		20.00	
2473 O. R. Henry - Election Judge		25.00	
2474 Calvin Raley - Election Judge		25.00	
2475 Loraine Graves - Election Clerk			20.00
2476 Betty Boles - Election Clerk		20.00	
2477 Bennie Anderson - Election Clerk		20.00	
2478 Thelma Stanley - Election Clerk			20.00
2479 Mrs. R. V. Gurley - Election Clerk		20.00	
2480 Gladys Melton - Election Clerk		20.00	
2481 Doris Roberts - Election Judge		25.00	
2482 Martha Hare - Election Judge		25.00	
2483 Lizzie Hume - Election Clerk		20.00	
2484 Gladys Hare - Election Clerk		20.00	
2485 Fay Jennings - Election Clerk		20.00	
2486 Lonnie Lanier - Duck Blind Permit Refund		20.00	
	TOTALS	\$4,680.27	

Woodrow Edwards discussed correspondence received from the attorney for John P. Travis III.

A Resolution canvassing returns and declaring results of the election held April 1, 1975, was passed, approved and adopted. Said Resolution is attached hereto these Minutes and made a part thereof.

After canvassing the Returns, it was determined that JEARL COOPER and LANDON RAMSAY had received the highest number of votes and were duly elected Directors of the Franklin County Water District. It was further determined that K. P. LESTER and EDWARD (DICK) SEAY were tied for the third Director's place. After the law was studied, it became known that those persons tied were the ones to decide what method shall be used to break the tie. They must then notify the Secretary of the Board, in writing of their decision.

There being no further business, the Meeting adjourned.

# MINUTES APPROVED this the 21st day of April 1975.

Landon Ramsay, President K. P. Lester, Vice President Billy M. Jordan, Director Ennis D. Christenberry, Director Jearl Cooper, Director